10 Personal Finance Courses Compared (India + US 2026)
Researched with AI assistance, reviewed and edited by Tapabrata Biswas.

On 15 September 2026 the top India results for "personal finance courses" included a one-day course priced at ₹1,61,095 and a 22-hour course priced at ₹ 0/-. Neither page mentioned the other existed.
That gap is the reason this page exists. We checked ten courses against their own pages on the same day, and the pattern underneath is consistent: almost every page ranking on this subject has something to sell, and the fees that matter are not the ones in the headline. They're in the certificate.
We sell no courses and take no commission from any of them. That is worth stating up front, because it's the one thing separating this page from the ones above it.
What is a personal finance course, and do you actually need one?
A personal finance course is structured teaching on managing your own money, covering budgeting, saving, debt, tax and investing basics, and it is distinct from a finance qualification aimed at a career in the industry. That distinction decides almost everything about which course fits, and we'll come back to it because Google currently blurs the two.
Do you need one? Often, no. The material in an entry-level course is the same material free written guides cover, including our own beginner guide, and the maths rarely goes past percentages. None of the ten courses here lists a maths prerequisite.
A course does add three things a written guide can't. It fixes a running order, so you can't skip the boring part. It assesses you, so you find out whether any of it stuck. And it issues a certificate, which matters to a student building a CV or anyone who needs proof of completion.
So the honest test is why you want it. For understanding your own money, a guide and a calculator do the job for nothing. For structure, assessment and a credential, a course is worth the hours, and three of the ten here charge nothing for all three.
Are you learning to manage your own money, or looking for a finance career?
These are two different products and the search results mix them freely. A course on household budgeting and a course on securities valuation both answer to "finance course", and only one of them helps with your own bank balance.
The India results page makes this visible. Google's own People Also Ask box for "personal finance course india" carries "Who earns more, CA or banker?" and "Can I do CFP without coaching?" alongside "What are the 5 basics of personal finance?" Those are questions from two completely different people.
Of the ten courses checked, only NISM's module page cleanly states which it is, naming its audience as students, vocational learners, the general public and prospective investors. The Knowledge Academy partly does, naming entrepreneurs, teachers and freelancers. Angel One, Great Learning and the third-party listicles don't distinguish at all. One competing India listicle mixes them on purpose and sells career counselling on the same page.
Here's the practical split. If you want to run your own money better, everything on this page applies. If you want a job in finance in India, the relevant paths are professional qualifications, NISM's own certification examinations for securities-market roles, CA through the ICAI, or CFP, and a personal finance course is not a route to any of them. Coursera's results page mixes Yale's Financial Markets and Corporate Finance Institute material in with household planning courses with no signposting, which is exactly how people end up in the wrong course.
Is personal finance hard to learn, and how long does it take?
The subject is easy and the behaviour is hard, and that is why nearly every course page answers a different question instead. Every one of the ten pages states a duration. Not one states what you can actually do at the end of it.
Two courses state a difficulty level outright. OpenLearn labels Managing my money as "Level 1: Introductory". Coursera labels the SoFi course "Beginner level". The rest give hours and stop.
On maths, the recurring worry in Google's PAA box, the course pages are unanimous by omission. Great Learning: "You do not need any prerequisites to learn the course". The Knowledge Academy: "There are no prerequisites for this Personal Finance Training." NISM opens enrolment to the "General Public with Lack of Financial Awareness".
| Course | Stated length | Stated level |
|---|---|---|
| Great Learning | 3.0 learning hrs | none stated |
| Angel One | about 3 hours | none stated |
| The Knowledge Academy | 1 day | none stated |
| Coursera (SoFi) | 1 week at 10 hours a week | Beginner |
| McGill | 8 core modules, 13 to 26 min each | none stated |
| NISM | 22 Hours | none stated |
| OpenLearn | 24 hours study | Level 1: Introductory |
So the content of an entry-level course is one focused weekend. The part that takes years is doing it monthly, and no course on this list measures that at all. Anyone selling you a three-hour route to financial competence is selling the syllabus, not the skill.
The free courses worth knowing in India
NISM's Financial Literacy Course for Bharat is listed at ₹ 0/- for 22 hours of content with a completion certificate, and NISM is a public trust established by SEBI, which makes it the only course in this set published by a body with no product to sell you.
Two conditions on that certificate rarely appear in any roundup. The module page lists "Exam: Yes" with a 50% pass percentage, and access runs 6 months. So it's free, and it's not automatic.
The same 22-hour course sits on SWAYAM Plus, the Ministry of Education platform implemented by IIT Madras, listed there as "22 hrs theory · 0 hrs practical" with a certificate issued jointly by SWAYAM Plus and NISM at micro-credential level. Two free government doorways to one course, and the enrolment page was live when we checked.
One real limitation, and it's a significant one for the audience the course names. A course called Financial Literacy Course for Bharat is listed in English. SWAYAM Plus notes related offerings in Hindi, Tamil and Gujarati, though we could not verify their fees or durations, so treat regional-language availability as unconfirmed.
A note on NISM's own website, because it undercuts trust in the best free option here. Its e-store refused connections on both course URLs when we checked. Its learning portal footer reads "© 2025 NISM All Rights Reserved." while the main institute site reads "© 2026". And the learning portal advertises "Affordable Pricing" and "competitive rates" while displaying no prices and no course catalogue. The course is real and free. The shopfront around it looks abandoned.
Which US free courses are actually free, and who paid for them
Khan Academy runs two separate free money courses on adjacent URLs, and no comparison page explains the difference. Personal Finance is the older and broader of the two, covering saving and budgeting, income and benefits, paying for college, and investments and retirement. Financial Literacy launched in December 2022 and runs 16 units.
Per Khan's own blog, Financial Literacy was built partly from content "curated from our Personal Finance course to reinforce key topics", so the two genuinely overlap. Financial Literacy is also a Capital One production. Capital One's own page says "Capital One and Khan Academy bring a free financial literacy course to anyone who wants to demystify personal finance", confirms "It's completely free. There's no charge for any part of the course", and adds the detail Khan's own pages bury: "there isn't a completion certificate at the end of the course."
A practical oddity worth knowing if you search for it. The Personal Finance hub has an intermittent indexing fault, and Google sometimes shows its title as "Oops. Something went wrong. Please try again." with no content indexed. The course is fine. All four unit pages returned a normal response when we checked them directly, so the working entry points are the units themselves.
McGill Personal Finance Essentials is free, still open, and eight core modules long, with two bonus modules on responsible investing and crypto tokens. Videos run 13 to 26 minutes. It's also an RBC production, "in collaboration with RBC and The Globe and Mail", and its footer reads "© McGill University and Royal Bank of Canada, 2019". Its certificate comes with an honest caveat in McGill's own words: "non-credit non-transcript and does not count towards any McGill University program, degree, diploma, or certificate."
The Open University's OpenLearn course Managing my money is the quiet winner on certificate terms. 24 hours of study, "Level 1: Introductory", covering budgets, debts, investments, property purchase, pensions and insurance, with a "Free statement of participation on completion". Two caveats the page doesn't flag: it was last "Updated: 12/02/2020", and its pensions and property material is UK-specific.
Notice what all three have in common. The two most-recommended free money courses in the US were paid for by a credit card issuer and a bank. A lender writing the curriculum on credit and debt is not automatically a problem, and it's also not something a reader should have to discover for themselves.
What does the certificate actually get you?
The single most reliable trap in this category is a free course with a paid certificate, and four of the ten courses here work that way. The enrolment is genuinely free. The document at the end is the product.
| Course | Course cost | Certificate | Exact terms |
|---|---|---|---|
| NISM | ₹ 0/- | Free, conditional | "Exam: Yes", 50% pass mark, 6 months access |
| SWAYAM Plus | Free | Free | Joint SWAYAM Plus and NISM micro-credential |
| OpenLearn | Free | Free | "Free statement of participation on completion" |
| McGill | Free | Free, limited | "non-credit non-transcript", no McGill credit |
| Khan Academy | Free | None | "there isn't a completion certificate at the end of the course" |
| Angel One | Free | None, a badge | "an exclusive Badge of Achievement" |
| Alison | Free | Paid | Free Learner Record instead; certificate price not shown |
| Coursera (SoFi) | Free to enrol | Paid | "purchase the Certificate experience" |
| Great Learning | Free | Paid | "a non-refundable fee is applicable", amount not stated |
| The Knowledge Academy | ₹1,61,095 | Included | Excludes GST at 18% |
Three entries in that table deserve a closer look.
Angel One's title sells a certificate its own course text doesn't offer. The page is titled "Personal Finance Courses & Certificates Online for Free", and the completion text reads: "Upon successful completion of the course, you will be awarded an exclusive Badge of Achievement." A platform badge is not a certificate. Worth knowing who's teaching, too: Angel One Limited, formerly Angel Broking Limited, is a stockbroker, and its page discloses this as a SEBI registration number in the footer legalese. Nothing in the course itself mentions that the publisher earns money when a reader opens a trading account.
Great Learning charges for its certificate and never says how much. Its page is titled "Free Personal Finance Course Online (2026)" and its own FAQ says: "if you wish to obtain a certificate upon completion, a non-refundable fee is applicable." The amount appears nowhere on the page. The same page also states its length as "3.0 learning hrs" in one place and about four hours in another, and upsells an Academy Pro+ subscription at ₹999 a month.
Alison's certificate is paid, and Alison is straightforward about why. Its help centre carries an article titled "Why do I have to pay for the Certificate if it was a free course?", which answers: "we have to build a sustainable business so we earn revenue via advertising and optional paid Certificates." There is a free alternative, and it's the useful part nobody repeats. You can "download your Learner Record as proof of your achievement" at no cost. One oddity: Alison's own pricing page rendered every certificate and diploma price as a dash when we loaded it, so we have no figure to publish.
Coursera is the same pattern at larger scale. Its course page says "Enroll for free" and then requires you to "purchase the Certificate experience" to certify, with a consolation "Full Course, No Certificate" tier for people who want the material alone. No certificate price appeared on the page. What did appear was Coursera Plus at ₹7,499 a year, or ₹625 a month billed annually.
What the paid courses cost, and whether the price tracks the hours
The most expensive course on the India results page charges ₹1,61,095 for one day, and the page states that figure excludes GST. At the 18% rate quoted on the page itself, the payable total lands near ₹1,90,092.
Set that against the free option on the same results page and the comparison is hard to read any other way.
| NISM | The Knowledge Academy | |
|---|---|---|
| Fee | ₹ 0/- | ₹1,61,095 plus 18% GST |
| Payable | ₹0 | about ₹1,90,092 |
| Length | 22 Hours | 1 day |
| Certificate | Completion certificate | Personal Finance Certificate |
| Publisher | Public trust established by SEBI | Corporate training company |
| Prerequisites | None, open enrolment | "There are no prerequisites" |
Both are credible in the sense that both deliver a course and a certificate. One charges nothing for 22 hours, and the other charges close to two lakh rupees for a single day.
Two structural things about that listing are worth noting because they tell you what kind of page you're reading. The identical course is published across at least nine Indian city URLs under the same path, which is a doorway-page pattern rather than nine local offerings. And a second URL on the same site ending in personal-finance-course resolves to a page titled "Personal Development Courses" containing only soft-skills material, with no personal finance content on it at all.
Coursera's paid tier is the other paid route most Indian readers will meet, and one detail on the SoFi course page matters here: it's "geared towards learners in the United States of America". The tax and credit-score content is US-specific. For an Indian reader that's a considerable share of the syllabus describing a system they don't live in.
Why the Indian government's own course is hard to find
Every course detail page on skillindiadigital.gov.in loads as a JavaScript shell, which means search engines and readers arriving from search see a site title and nothing else. We tried two URLs, including a course indexed as "Finance For All", and got the same generic page title both times with no course name, fee, duration or certificate detail readable at all.
That vacuum has been filled by aggregators. One ranking page titled "Skill India Free Personal Finance Course 2026: Certificate, Apply Now" carries an "Official Website and Apply Link" that points at a tinyurl address, twice, with no affiliate disclosure, no sponsored label, and no statement of its relationship to Skill India. It never links skillindiadigital.gov.in.
So here are the direct routes, which is the least a page on this subject can do:
- Skill India Digital Hub: skillindiadigital.gov.in
- SWAYAM Plus, carrying the free NISM course: swayamplus.education.gov.in
- NISM's own learning portal: online.nism.ac.in
We can't tell you what the Skill India course contains, because its pages don't render their content to anything but a browser. Claims elsewhere about its certificate issuer and its enrolment requirements come from third-party blogs, not from the platform, so we've left them out.
How stale is the field you are searching?
Four of the pages competing for this query carry a visible date older than the content they're recommending. That matters on a subject where tax rules, product names and course catalogues all move.
| Page | Visible date |
|---|---|
| McGill Personal Finance Essentials | © 2019 |
| OpenLearn Managing my money | "Updated: 12/02/2020" |
| CNBC Select, free personal finance courses | "Updated Tue, Apr 4 2023" |
| Angel One | title says 2025, copyright "2024-2025" |
The CNBC Select entry is the one worth dwelling on, because it ranks well and reads authoritatively. It was last updated in April 2023, its byline reads "By Lily Wolfson, Personal Finance Intern", and its disclosure says the quiet part plainly: "We earn a commission from affiliate partners on many offers and links. This commission may impact how and where certain products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear)."
All four of its recommended courses are sold by commercial course platforms. Khan Academy, McGill and OpenLearn, all free and all non-commercial, appear nowhere on a list headlined around free personal finance courses.
On Coursera's own results page for this query, SoFi holds two of the top three slots. SoFi sells loans, refinancing and investment products. A lender is the default teacher on debt, on a page the marketplace monetises.
What this post deliberately does not cover
Course quality is not assessed here. We checked what each course says about itself on its own pages on 15 September 2026, and we did not complete any of them, so nothing above is a review of the teaching.
No prices are published for Alison's certificates, Coursera's certificates, Udemy's courses or Finology Quest, because those pages either showed no figure or blocked us outright. We'd rather leave a gap than publish a number we couldn't read.
Professional qualifications sit outside this page entirely. CFP, CFA, the NISM certification examinations for securities-market roles and CA through the ICAI are career credentials with their own syllabi, eligibility rules and fees, and none of them is comparable to an entry-level personal finance course.
Nothing here is advice about your own money. A course teaches general concepts, which is not the same as guidance on your specific situation. For that, a SEBI-registered investment adviser in India or a CFP in the US, and a CA or CPA for anything tax-related, is the right person to ask.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best personal finance course in India? For cost against hours, the NISM Financial Literacy Course for Bharat is the strongest option in India. NISM is a public trust established by SEBI, the course is listed at ₹ 0/- for 22 hours of content, and it ends in a completion certificate. Two conditions rarely get mentioned: there is an exam with a 50% pass mark, and access expires after 6 months. The identical 22-hour course is also free on SWAYAM Plus, the Ministry of Education platform run with IIT Madras, where the certificate is issued jointly by SWAYAM Plus and NISM as a micro-credential. The catch for many Indian learners is language, because a course named for Bharat is listed in English.
Is there a genuinely free personal finance course with a free certificate? Yes, three of them, and they are not the ones the listicles name. NISM's Financial Literacy Course for Bharat is ₹ 0/- with the completion certificate included, subject to a 50% exam pass mark. The Open University's OpenLearn course Managing my money offers 24 hours of study and a free statement of participation on completion. SWAYAM Plus carries the NISM course with a free joint certificate. By contrast Coursera requires you to purchase the Certificate experience, Alison keeps the course free and sells the certificate, Great Learning applies a non-refundable certificate fee it never states, and Khan Academy's Financial Literacy course has no completion certificate at all.
Is personal finance hard to learn, and how long does it take? The subject is easy and the habit is hard, which is why almost no course page addresses the question. The arithmetic in a personal finance course rarely goes past percentages and multiplication, and none of the ten courses reviewed here lists a maths prerequisite. Two state the level outright: OpenLearn labels its course Level 1: Introductory, and Coursera labels the SoFi course Beginner level. On time, the honest range from the course pages themselves runs 3 hours at Great Learning to 24 hours at OpenLearn, with NISM at 22 hours. So the content of an entry-level course is a weekend of work. What takes longer is acting on it every month, and no course measures that.
Do I need a personal finance course to learn about money? No, and the course sellers have an obvious reason not to say so. The material in an entry-level personal finance course is the same material free written guides and library books cover, and a course adds three things a guide cannot: a fixed running order, an assessment that tells you whether it stuck, and a certificate. A course earns its place when you want structure and proof of completion, such as a student building a CV or someone who abandons self-paced reading. For a reader who simply wants to understand their own money, a written guide plus a calculator does the same job at no cost.
Which is better, Khan Academy Personal Finance or Khan Academy Financial Literacy? Khan Academy runs two overlapping free money courses on adjacent URLs and no comparison page explains the difference. Personal Finance sits at khanacademy.org/college-careers-more/personal-finance and is the older, broader course covering saving and budgeting, income and benefits, paying for college, and investments and retirement. Financial Literacy launched in December 2022, is a Capital One production, runs 16 units, and per Khan's own blog was built partly from content curated from the Personal Finance course to reinforce key topics. Neither charges anything. Financial Literacy has no completion certificate. One practical note: the Personal Finance hub has an intermittent indexing fault that makes Google show its title as an error message, while the unit pages load normally.
Is the Angel One personal finance course free, and does it give a certificate? The course is free and it does not give a certificate. Angel One's page is titled Personal Finance Courses & Certificates Online for Free, but the course text says that on successful completion you will be awarded an exclusive Badge of Achievement, which is a platform badge and not a certificate. The course runs about 3 hours in total, with the beginner tier listed as 5 Modules, 12 Chapters and 2 hours to complete, and tracking your progress requires a login. Worth knowing who is teaching: Angel One Limited, formerly Angel Broking Limited, is a stockbroker, and the page discloses this only as a SEBI registration number in the footer.
Why can I not find the Indian government's personal finance course? Because the government's own platform is close to invisible to search engines, and shortener sites have filled the gap. Every course detail page on skillindiadigital.gov.in loads as a JavaScript shell, so the course name, fee, duration and certificate details are not readable without running the app in a browser. Third-party aggregators rank instead, and at least one sends its official website and apply link through a tinyurl address with no disclosure of who it is or what it earns. The direct government routes worth bookmarking are skillindiadigital.gov.in and swayamplus.education.gov.in, which carries the free NISM course.
In summary
The cheapest credible course in India is free and comes from a body established by the market regulator. The most expensive one on the same results page charges close to ₹1,90,092 with GST for a single day. Between those two sit eight more, four of which give the course away and sell the certificate.
If there's one habit worth carrying out of this page, it's checking the certificate terms before the course content. That's where the money is, and it's the line every page above us leaves out.
For the reading route rather than the course route, our beginner's guide covers the same ground in order, the books worth starting with go deeper on individual topics, and the data on financial literacy rates explains why so many of these courses exist in the first place. If video suits you better, the channels we rate cover both countries.
Sources
All course pages below were checked on 15 September 2026.
- NISM, Financial literacy Course for Bharat (fee ₹ 0/-, 22 Hours, exam and 50% pass mark, 6 months access), online.nism.ac.in
- NISM, Curriculum (Financial Education) (NISM described as a public trust established by SEBI), nism.ac.in
- SWAYAM Plus, Financial Literacy Course for Bharat (22 hrs theory, joint micro-credential, Ministry of Education with IIT Madras), swayamplus.education.gov.in
- Skill India Digital Hub, course catalogue (pages render as a JavaScript shell), skillindiadigital.gov.in
- The Knowledge Academy, Personal Finance Course - India (INR161095, 1 day, GST-exclusive at 18%), theknowledgeacademy.com
- Angel One, Personal Finance Courses & Certificates Online for Free (Badge of Achievement, SEBI Regn. No. INZ000161534), angelone.in
- Great Learning, Free Personal Finance Course Online (non-refundable certificate fee, amount not stated), mygreatlearning.com
- Khan Academy, Personal finance (course hub and unit pages), khanacademy.org
- Khan Academy blog, Empowering learners with financial literacy (December 2022 launch, content curated from Personal Finance), blog.khanacademy.org
- Capital One, Khan Academy financial literacy course (completely free, 16 units, no completion certificate), capitalone.com
- McGill Personal Finance Essentials (free, eight core modules, non-credit non-transcript attestation, RBC and The Globe and Mail), mcgillpersonalfinance.com
- The Open University OpenLearn, Managing my money (24 hours study, Level 1 Introductory, free statement of participation, updated 12/02/2020), open.edu
- Alison, Certificate pricing (courses free, certificates optional and paid), alison.com
- Alison Help Center, Why do I have to pay for the Certificate if it was a free course? (free Learner Record alternative), helpcenter.alison.com
- Coursera, Introduction to Personal Finance by SoFi (enroll for free, purchase the Certificate experience, geared towards US learners, Coursera Plus ₹7,499 a year), coursera.org
- CNBC Select, These four free personal finance courses can set you up for financial success in three hours or less (updated 4 April 2023, affiliate disclosure on ordering), cnbc.com
You might also like

15 personal finance books for beginners in India and the US, 4 more that come with a caveat, a reading order, and the one book here that is legally free.
20 min read

Finance and stock-market YouTube channels worth watching in India and the US: Rachana Ranade, Pranjal Kamra, Graham Stephan, Ben Felix, and who each is for.
14 min read

The 2026 index puts US financial literacy at 47%. India's last national survey said 27% and is seven years old. What the numbers mean, and where to begin.
17 min read